May 30, 2023

On May 29th, over one hundred people gathered to celebrate SPO seniors, certificate students and prize winners in the beautiful Chancellor Green Rotunda!

Congratulations to the graduating seniors from the Department of Spanish & Portuguese: Londy Hernandez, Jack Thompson, José Luis Ortiz and Liam Seeley.

Students, family, friends, faculty, and staff were welcomed with opening remarks by Pedro Meira Monteiro, Department Chair, who continued in the recognition of our graduating concentrators and certificate students. Various professors who were in attendance presented the following students with well-deserved departmental and university prizes including Professor Emeritus Ángel G. Loureiro who personally presented the prize in his own name:

Vicente Llorens Castillo Senior Prize in Spanish for overall academic excellence by a graduating senior:
Liam Seeley '23

Premio Ángel Rama for excellence by a first-year or sophomore in advanced Spanish courses:
Olivia McGoldrick '26 (unable to attend the Class Day event as are currently studying abroad in Lisbon and Cape Verde with Princeton in Portugal!)

Prêmio Machado de Assis for excellence in advanced undergraduate Portuguese courses:
Isabel Kingston '24

Pedro Meira Monteiro, Angel Loureiro, Jack Thompson

L to R: Pedro Meira Monteiro, Angel Loureiro, Jack Thompson

Premio Angel G. Loureiro for significant international research and experience for a junior or senior:
Jack Thompson '23

Premio María Zambrano for an outstanding Junior Paper in the department:
Lilly Costello '24 and Sydney Johnson '24

Ricardo Piglia Best Senior Thesis Prize:
Liam Seeley '23 and Jack Thompson '23

Congratulations also to SPO certificate students for successful completion of their studies:

Ethan Abraham (Computer Science), Amanda Banh (Molecular Biology), Lawrence Chen (Ecology & Evolutionary Biology), Hadley Clayton (Electrical & Computer Engr), Rene Cruz (History), Gisell Curbelo (Public & International Affairs), Hannah Feng (Economics), Ella Gantman (Public & International Affairs), Zachary Jaramillo (Economics), Gawon Jo (Comparative Literature), Saareen Junaid (History), Matthew Karns (Public & International Affairs), Grace Liu (Computer Science), Jacob Marsh (Sociology), Byulorm Park (Chemistry), Danielle Ranucci (Comparative Literature), Victoria Schneider (Public & International Affairs), Ashwini Shende (Chemical and Biological Engr), Chloe Smith-Frank (Psychology), Alevtina Studenikina (Chemistry),Julia Wilson (Psychology), Kevin Yeung (Chemical and Biological Engr), Jia Yu (Economics), and Tavarria Zeigler (Politics).

Faculty, concentrators, certificate students 2023

2023 faculty, concentrators, certificate students 

View the full list of graduating concentrators and thesis titles. Check out our Facebook and Instagram for more pictures from the Class Day event!

Access the Class Day e-Brochure 2023

Congratulations to all our graduates! ¡Felicitaciones! Parabéns!